Chevening/Oxford OCIS Fellowships at University of Oxford 2020/2021

Chevening/Oxford Centre for Islamic Studies (OCIS) Fellowships 2020/2021 at University of Oxford

The Oxford Centre for Islamic Studies Scholarship (OCISS) was established to allow muslim scholars undertake independent studies of benefit to the Muslim community. OCISS was established in 1985 to encourage the scholarly study of Islam and the Islamic world.

Application Deadline: 5th November 2019

Offered Annually? Yes

Eligible Countries: Afghanistan, Algeria, Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, Egypt, Indonesia, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Libya, Malaysia, Morocco, Nigeria, Pakistan, the Occupied Palestinian Territories, Philippines, Russia, Sudan, Syria, Tunisia, Turkmenistan, or Uzbekistan
To be taken at (country): UK

Type: Fellowship

About the Award: Fellows undertake a period of self-directed research and study at OCIS based on the culture and civilisation of Islam, and of all aspects of contemporary Muslim societies in the global context. The Chevening OCIS Abdullah Gül Fellowship is only open to applicants from Turkey.
Fellows will benefit from meeting a multi-disciplinary group of scholars focusing on the Islamic world, and have the opportunity to develop contacts with relevant individuals, discuss issues relating to the Islamic world, including Islamic history, classical Islamic sciences, economics and Islamic finance, and the study of Muslims in the West. Fellows will contribute to the Centre’s objective to encourage and promote sustained dialogue and collaboration within the global academic community of the culture and civilisation of Islam, and contemporary Muslim societies.
The Chevening-OCIS Fellowship Award offers financial support to individuals to undertake a period of independent study and research at the Oxford Centre for Islamic Studies.

READ ALSO:  University of Bolton Stoller Scholarships for Undergraduates in UK


To be eligible for a Chevening/OCIS Fellowship, candidate must:

Demonstrate the potential to rise to positions of leadership and influence.
Demonstrate that they possess the personal, intellectual and interpersonal attributes reflecting this potential.
Be a citizen of one of the above listed countries, who will return to your home country at the end of the period of fellowship.
A postgraduate (PG) level qualification (or equivalent professional training or experience in a relevant area) at the time of application;
Significant professional and/or academic research experience (5+ years);
Applicants who have previously received financial benefit from an HMG funded scholarship or fellowship are eligible to apply after a period of five years following the completion of their first HMG  funded award and are required to demonstrate their career progression from that point;
Provide evidence of meeting at least the minimum English language abilities for Chevening Awards
Not hold dual nationality where one nationality is British (other than for nationals exempt from this requirement listed in the Chevening Guidance for Applicants).

READ ALSO:  Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholarships 2022 for Masters Students

Not be employees, employees’ relatives (or former employees who have left employment less than two years before) of Her Majesty’s Government including the FCO (including FCO posts), the British Council, DFID, MOD, BIS, UKTI and UKBA, the Association of Commonwealth Universities or OCIS or any of their wholly-owned subsidiaries.
Duration of Fellowship: The fellowship starts in October 2020 for a six month period of research at OCIS.

Value of Award:
6 month period of research at OCIS
Living expenses for the duration of the Fellowship
Return economy airfare from their home country to the UK
Allowance package for study related activities
Number of Awardees: Up to five awards are normally available annually

READ ALSO:  Q-Step PG Bursaries/Scholarships at Warwick in UK, 2018

How to Apply: Apply here.

Find out more about the application process, and apply, via the eligible country page links in the Fellowship webpage (Link below).

Visit Fellowship Webpage for Details

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply