Top Ten Scholarships for Second Class Upper (2.1) Graduates

A scholarship is every student’s dream. But scholarships do not come easy. And often there are stringent conditions attached to obtaining and keeping one. When applying for a scholarship for master’s degree, one of such conditions for potential recipients is their cumulative grade point average. Interestingly scholarships are not reserved only for the best students. You don’t need a first class bachelor’s degree to qualify for a master’s scholarship.

So, if you did not make first class in your first degree and you are wondering if there are scholarships available for you to pursue a Masters abroad, this Post is for you! You will learn about some of the Top Scholarships for Second Class Upper (2.1) graduates.

This post is brought to you by After School Africa. If you are new to these posts, welcome. We aim for all-round education of young Africans. Consider joining 20000+ others in subscribing to AfterSchoolAfrica on Youtube to continue exploring opportunities and watching videos like this one below:

Table of Contents

1.     Commonwealth Scholarship Scheme

The CSS is a scholarship scheme that allows students from Commonwealth countries who would not otherwise be able to study in the UK to benefit from graduate study at a University in the UK. This will help them to contribute to the development of their home countries. The Commonwealth Scholarships are offered on an annual basis for Master’s study. You must hold a first degree of either first or upper second class (2:1) classification, or lower second class (2:2) classification plus a relevant postgraduate qualification.


READ ALSO:  All Universities to Study in English in Germany for Free

2.      Australia Awards Scholarship

Australia Awards, a cornerstone of the Australian Government’s development assistance program for Africa, provides access to postgraduate education, training and professional development opportunities for suitably qualified Africans from eligible countries. On their return to the workplace, Australia Awards Alumni are expected to contribute actively to development in their home countries. The minimum grade requirement is a third class plus work experience.

3.     Chevening Scholarships

Chevening Scholarships are awarded to individuals with strong academic backgrounds who also have demonstrable leadership potential. The scholarship offers financial support to study for a Master’s degree at any of the UK’s leading universities and the opportunity to become part of an influential global network of over 44,000 alumni. Applicants must have a minimum of a 2.1 honors to be eligible for the scholarship.


READ ALSO:  Top 30 Turkey Scholarships for Ethiopian Students 2020

4.     ARES Masters and Training scholarships

ARES Masters scholarship by the Belgium government, grants 150 spots for master degree scholarships and 70 for participation into the training programmes. You must mainly be from a developing country to be awarded this scholarship and your career goal must show openness towards development issues. If you meet all of the criteria for the ARES scholarship, you will be provided with Travel, Monthly living allowance, all assignment costs, Installation costs, Tuition fees, Registration fee, Insurance, Housing, Allowances for dependents, Return fees and completion bonus.  The scholarship places more emphasis on the social impact of an applicant’s work experience and less on academic qualification.

5.     MasterCard Foundation Scholars Programme

The MasterCard Foundation Scholars Program started in 2012 and allows students whose talent and promise exceed their financial resources to complete their education. The Program provides financial, social, and academic support to Scholars. Financial support includes tuition fees, accommodation, books, and other scholastic materials. The Scholarship Program is anticipated to benefit 15,000 young people for secondary, undergraduate and Masters levels within 8 to 10 years. Some of the participating tertiary institutions include; University of Michigan, University of California, Arizona State University, Wellesley University and Duke University. Applicants to the program must have a minimum CGPA of 3.4 to be eligible to apply.

6.     New Zealand Commonwealth and Development Scholarships

The two major scholarships in New Zealand are the New Zealand Commonwealth Scholarship and the New Zealand Development Scholarship. The former provides scholarship for students from commonwealth countries while the latter provides scholarships for students from developing countries. Both scholarships provide financial support for tuition, living costs, and airfares. For both scholarships, the partners of students are eligible for a work visa that allows them to live and work in New Zealand for the duration of their partner’s study. Scholarship applicants need to check that they are likely to meet the minimum academic requirements and the minimum level of English required for their courses.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply