Commonwealth Shared Scholarship At the University of Oxford UK 2020/2021

The University of Oxford is delighted to invite applicants for the Commonwealth Scholarship for developing countries for the academic session of 2020/2021. We advise you not to apply if you are not eligible. This is because only eligible persons will be considered for this program.


The Commonwealth Shared Scholarship Scheme is a joint initiative between the UK Department for International Development (DFID) and the University of Oxford to support students from developing Commonwealth countries who would not otherwise be able to study in the United Kingdom.

Level/Field of study:

The scholarships are available for pursuing a Master’s program.

Host Nationality of Commonwealth scholarship for developing countries

The scholarship is granted by the University of Oxford UK

Eligible Nationality:

The commonwealth scholarship for developing countries is open to international students from the following developing and transition countries: Anguilla, Antigua, and Barbuda, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belize, Bermuda, Botswana, British Virgin Islands, Cameroon, Dominica, Falkland Islands, Fiji.

Also, Gambia, Ghana, Grenada, Guyana, India, Jamaica, Kenya, Kiribati, LesothoMalawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mauritius, Montserrat, MozambiqueNamibia, Nauru, Nigeria, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Pitcairn, Rwanda, St Helena, St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia, St Vincent.

READ ALSO:  King’s College London Global Undergraduate Scholarships 2018-2019

In addition, SeychellesSierra Leone, Solomon Islands, South Africa, Sri Lanka, SwazilandTanzania, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tristan da Cunha, Turks and Caicos, Tuvalu, Uganda, Vanuatu, Western Samoa, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.

Scholarship Benefits:

These opportunities have a value that includes course fees, college fees and a grant for living costs of at least £12,780.

Scholarship Number:

The number of offers is not specified


These are the criteria which candidates must meet in order for applicants to be eligible for the scholarship:

  • Hold a first degree at either first-class or upper second class level;
  • Be nationals of a Commonwealth developing country, and not at present living or studying in a developed country;
  • Have not undertaken studies lasting one year or more in a developed country;
  • Be able to confirm in writing that neither they nor their families are able to pay for them to study in the UK (you will confirm this if you are among the nominations for the scholarship by Oxford – you do not need to provide confirmation in advance);
  • Be willing to return to their home country as soon as their award comes to an end (the Commission will only consider requests to extend leave to remain in the UK post-award for those wishing to progress from Master’s to PhD study and strict conditions will apply).
READ ALSO:  University of Edinburgh Online Commonwealth Scholarships – Surgical Online Learning 2021/2022

Application Procedure:

For the commonwealth scholarship for developing countries, submit your application for graduate study by the relevant January deadline (8 or 19 January, depending on your course). If you meet initial eligibility criteria, you will then proceed to complete an application form produced by the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission.

A notice will be posted on the scholarship webpage once successful candidates have been notified.

You can begin the application by clicking on Online Application and get more details by clicking the Scholarship Link

Application Deadline:

Currently, this scholarship is unavailable but we shall keep you posted on the new date.

READ ALSO:  University of Glasgow-SMLC-Dumbreck Doctoral Research Scholarship in UK, 2018

The scholarship for 2020 had a deadline of December 2019 and the successful candidates will be contacted in July 2020.


The commonwealth shared scholarship 2020 is for developing countries.

students who are from such countries are encouraged to apply.

You stand to gain free tuition from this scholarship.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply