Apply for ACME Uganda National Journalism Awards 2020

Application Timeline: 

  • Entries open: 16 March 2020
  • Entries close: 30 April 2020
  • Judging process: May 2020
  • Awards gala: June 2020

Eligible Countries: Uganda

To be taken at (country): Uganda

About the Award: The Uganda National Journalism Awards are presented annually to recognise and promote reporting that informs and empowers the public, increases the voices and spaces for important information, and holds the powerful to account. Launched four years ago, the awards represent a pinnacle of achievement for Ugandan journalists, many of whom work tirelessly to attain journalistic excellence, often in the face of enormous financial and political pressure.


Eligible Fields: The Uganda National Journalism Awards 2018 will be given to the best reporting in 20 categories, namely:

READ ALSO:  Akina Mama wa Afrika (AMwA) Feminist and Transformational Leadership Development 2020
1.      Agriculture reporting 11. Health reporting
2.      Arts reporting 12. Investigative reporting
3.      Breaking news reporting 13. Justice, law and order
4.      Business, economics and financial reporting 14. Local reporting
5.      Data journalism 15. National news reporting (Broadcast)
6.      Education 16. National news reporting (Print)
7.      Energy, oil, gas and mineral resources 17. News illustration
8.      Environment reporting 18. Photo and video journalism
9.      Explanatory reporting 19. Political reporting
10.  Feature writing 20. Sports

Type: Contest/Awards

Eligibility: The Uganda National Journalism Awards 2020 are open to all professional journalists working in print, television, radio and online news platforms in Uganda for stories published or broadcast between 1 January and 31 December 2019.

READ ALSO:  Akina Mama wa Afrika (AMwA) Feminist and Transformational Leadership Development 2020

Value of Award:. Both the winner and first runner-up in each category will receive a substantial cash prize. Plaques and certificates will also be given. A separate prize for exceptional journalism shall also be awarded to a participant in UNJA who exhibits extensive knowledge of his or her reporting beat, provides evidence of growth over the period of assessment, consistently produces quality work, and is highly regarded by others in the profession. Winners will be celebrated at a grand gala to be held in Kampala in June 2020. Additionally, winning entries will be published online and in a booklet to be distributed by ACME.

READ ALSO:  Akina Mama wa Afrika (AMwA) Feminist and Transformational Leadership Development 2020

How to Apply: All submissions must have been published or broadcast in a Ugandan media outlet or a regional outlet with a substantial Ugandan audience during the 2019 calendar year. Web-based news organisations that follow a strict code of journalistic ethics and publish original reporting on a regular basis may also submit entries.

To submit an entry for the awards, visit the Eligibility Rules and Submission Guidelines page on the ACME website.

Visit Award Webpage for details

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply